Professor Tadeusz Malinski, Ph.D.; Dr. h. c.

Marvin & Ann Dilley White Chair and Distinguished Professor of Ohio University

Tadeusz Malinski received his M.Sc. in chemistry from Adam Mickiewicz University (1969) and Ph.D. from Poznan University of Technology (1975). He was a research fellow at the University of Michigan and Professor at the University of Houston and Oakland University. Malinski joined Ohio University in 2000 and was appointed the Marvin & Ann Dilley White Professor of Biomedical Sciences. Presently, he is also the Chairman of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Ohio University.

Professor Malinski is a world-renowned scientist and inventor. His research is interdisciplinary in the areas of biotechnology, biochemistry and medicine. He introduced nanotechnological methods and systems to medicine and is one of the pioneers of a relatively new field of medicine – nanomedicine. He was first in the world to measure, with nanosensors, nitric oxide concentration in single cells and a single neurons.

His ground-breaking discovery of the regulatory role of nitric oxide in the beating heart and the mechanism of dysfunction of nitric oxide synthase are historical contributions to world science. The dysfunction of nitric oxide synthase is a common denominator of several diseases of modern civilization: heart failure, hypertension, diabetes, atherosclerosis, aging, obesity, Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, Lou Gehrig's disease and stroke. Professor T. Malinski developed new systems for early diagnosis of cardiovascular and neurodegenerative diseases, a new system of heart preservation for transplantation, and biological modifications of prosthetic systems including an artificial heart. Professor Malinski's work appears in nearly 250 scientific journal articles.

He has received approximately 25 Awards and Distinctions. Among others: Ohio University Distinguished Professor, Honorary Fellow of the Polish Medical Association, Doctor Honoris Causa of Medical University of Gdansk, Honorary Fellow of Phi Beta Kappa Scientific Societies and Honorary Fellow of Srem. He received the Maria Sklodowska-Curie Medal in Chemistry, the GEMI Award in Medicine, the Sniadecki-Wroblewski-Olszewski Medal in Medicine and the Hipolit Cegielski Award.